Day #248

when i was studying psychology some years ago, i took a test to determine how much i’m introvert or extrovert. and it said that i’m so fucking introvert it’s almost a miracle i even talk to somebody sometimes. and i’m also a melancholic. lucky me. well, i’m doing pretty well now, but relationships never been easy for me and so many people are lost for me because of my poor ability to communicate. it’s hard to fight yourself.

Let’s learn more about him in his own words:

I was born and raised in Moscow. I guess I had a pretty normal childhood but I was a strong introvert so communication with other people wasn’t easy or necessary at all. I was always focused on something beyond usual people’s interests. I was drawn to maths, physics, cosmology, chemistry, psycholohy, philosophy etc. And I still am. When I turned 18, I began to become more interested in the arts, I started to play in a band as a guitarist, got some tattoos and grew long hair. Before I was 23 or so, I don’t think I ever held a camera in my hands. Then I bought some crappy compact Olympus and I pretty much enjoyed working with it, people called me to parties to take pictures which was nice too. Then I switched to the cheapest DSLR and realized all the potential of photography to express my thoughts.

 

My philosophy

As a photographer I’ve chosen artistic nude as my favourite genre for different reasons. First of all, I’m endlessly fascinated by female beauty and the power it has over people’s mind. But my works are almost never “erotic”, they always have some special meaning not everyone even attempts to think of. I don’t mind this at all, I never try to explain what I do. Some people have their own interpretation and that’s great too. My thoughts are rarely happy, my mind’s dark and lonely and all of this bleeds into my art in a symbolic form. Which, in turn, gives more sense to my life and even gives me new thoughts and ideas. Everything is connected.

I have asked Konstantin to choose some of his favourite shots:

Now, regarding the pictures I’ve chosen. Here’s some of my comments bearing in mind that I don’t feel comfortable talking about how to interpret them, my words should not be taken too seriously

I was always a fan of Egyptian mythology and this is kind of a tribute to that passion. A quote I like: “…Nut was the goddess of the sky and all heavenly bodies, a symbol of resurrection and rebirth. According to the Egyptians,during the day, the heavenly bodies—such as the sun and moon—would make their way across her body. Then, at dusk, they would be swallowed, pass through her
digestive system during the night, and be reborn out of her uterus at dawn, the red streaks in the sky symbolizing the blood and fluid passed at birth

Hard to pick the right words to describe it. But the contrast between soft and curvy lines of body with cruel environment and with lots of empty space, all of this makes it beautiful to me.

This is about my (and anyone’s) true home. Which is not where my family is or where I live. It’s definitely in my mind, and it’s always deserted, always hard and twisted. Though I wouldn’t look as good naked as she does

She looks like a doll, she’s passive and very appealing. One of the simplest but visually (near-)perfect pictures of mine.

Again, something about inner self, hiding in the dark but actually very exposed and vulnerable. Also a technical experiment with film format.

The combination of different elements and high contrast again. Never tried to explain this one to myself, so cannot comment further.

This one is about the feeling of being buried under dark thoughts.

I think that Nietzsche explained it well: “When you look into an abyss, the abyss also looks into you”

Blood is a very strong symbol. And it was shed for far too many symbols and abstract ideas.

Thank you Konstantin for your wonderful work. We hope to see more of it in future.

727bc91e-375c-43c6-a977-858aa4b1db09

9504fc21-8657-4813-96a8-76806fedaabb

a2615464-4427-4f23-9940-ec6cc6355597

ae73ed58-f226-42f0-817c-4f55693ea7fa

3f759f96-9510-49c8-8284-ffc818e72c90

7e6b2d18-441c-4a9f-8df5-262a008bab53

28ee4e5b-6482-4424-a6ef-063646ab5acf

Leave a Reply

